New Books

by Nick

Image

I bought Cortazar because Neruda says “Anyone who doesn’t read Cortázar is doomed. Not to read him is a serious invisible disease, which in time can have terrible consequences.” No one I know has read Sam Eisenstein who the elusive Green Integer Press publishes so I picked up a novel. I’ve very excited to read it after hearing him compared to Pynchon. Plus there’s practically nothing online about him (except for his rate my professor page which I find amusing but not quite as funny as the existence of Harold Bloom’s Rate my Professor page). Nostalgia is another book I’ve heard almost nothing about but the presumptuous folks overseas claim I should lay all my American tendencies toward realist fiction aside before beginning it. I guess they haven’t figured out the difference between commercial and ~literary fiction in the U.S.

